Santosh Benjamin's Weblog

Adventures with AppFabric, BizTalk & Clouds

Remove Vocals from Track

leave a comment »


I’m going through that phase again where I’m agonizing over my lack of progress in my guitar playing especially when compared to the purple patches I had when building my GuitarPortal site (which is long due for an overhaul). This kind of sentiment is usually brought on when i go back to India for a visit and see my mates rocking the place down with great technique while i have to resort to compensating for a lack of ability by using the biggest pedal i can get my hands on such as my POD XT Live.

Anyway, I was listening to a few songs that I want to nail and was trying to focus on the guitar while the singer was wailing away and i badly wanted to get my hands on something that could knock off the vocals while letting me listen to the guitar part. I have been searching for something like this for a long time and finally managed to hit paydirt. I initially looked for something to alter the track itself but i decided to settle for just eliminating that section of the track while playing without altering the source file in any way.

AnalogX has a freeware plugin for Winamp and DirectX called VocalRemover. It doesnt work perfectly and as the readme file explains, the way the songs are mixed means that sometimes the vocals will find their way through no matter what you do.

The Winamp plugin (works on Winamp 5.52) is the easiest to use. Just activate the plugin after installation and it shows a little window with a slider control that controls the vocal level. To use the DirectX version with Windows Media Player I had to download another DSP plugin named AdaptX from Chronotron which sets up WMP and then when you install the DirectX version of VocalRemover, AdaptX lets you activate it and then remove the vocals. The effect seemed better with the DirecttX version.

Cool stuff. Check it out if you are into such things.

Written by santoshbenjamin

February 9, 2008 at 5:15 PM

Posted in General

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

